My review of: Unholy Ghosts by Stacia Kane

Image

Unholy Ghosts by Stacia Kane

***Book description***

THE DEPARTED HAVE ARRIVED.

The world is not the way it was. The dead have risen, and the living are under attack. The powerful Church of Real Truth, in charge since the government fell, has sworn to reimburse citizens being harassed by the deceased.

Enter Chess Putnam, a fully tattooed witch and freewheeling ghost hunter. She’s got a real talent for banishing the wicked dead. But Chess is keeping a dark secret: She owes a lot of money to a murderous drug lord named Bump, who wants immediate payback in the form of a dangerous job that involves black magic, human sacrifice, a nefarious demonic creature, and enough wicked energy to wipe out a city of souls.

Toss in lust for a rival gang leader and a dangerous attraction to Bump’s ruthless enforcer, and Chess begins to wonder if the rush is really worth it. Hell, yeah.

******

My review

Finished reading on August 11th 2013 and gave it 2 stars.

I found this book only got interesting in the last 50-75 pages. If more attention was focused on the idea behind the ghosts and the conspiracy that was going I believe this would have been a much better book. There was far too much focus on Cesaria’s(Chess) drug use. The drug use was over the top and added nothing to the story. By the first few chapters I was over it and it just made the book drag on and on. I’ve read books in the past where drug use was prominent so my complaint isn’t on the lines of “drugs are bad” but that it wasn’t integrated in a way that benefited/contributed to the book. Since I got to the point where I wanted to throw the book every time Chess used drugs I wasn’t able to form any feelings for the characters so could care less what happened to them. Not to mention just about the time I’d get some sort of feel of a character Chess would cloud that view with her drug hazed thoughts/feelings.

I really wanted to like this book. The core idea was interesting but got lost behind the drug use and the fact that the would be ghost hunter freaked out every time she encountered a ghost. I hate to say it but the only way I’d continue this series is if I got it for free and I might not waste my time even then.

My notes while reading…

Page 147/339

Having difficulty reading this one. Not sure if it’s because Chess always seems more concerned about her next fix, or that she’s a ghost hunter who freaks out when one appears.

Page 196/339

Oh, hey I think I might have hit a little bit of action.
Previous to this all I’ve read has been…..

Any possible excuse Chess can find to do drugs.

Oh, and can’t forget if she sees a ghost freak out and run. I mean wouldn’t a trained ghost hunter always have their ghost busting kit with them?

— Turns out that I was wrong about the book picking up at 196…

Leave a Reply

