My review of: Warrior by Zoe Archer

Image

Warrior by  Zoe Archer

***Book Description***

To most people, the realm of magic is the stuff of nursery rhymes and dusty libraries. But for Capt. Gabriel Huntley, it’s become quite real and quite dangerous…

IN HOT PURSUIT…
The vicious attack Capt. Gabriel Huntley witnesses in a dark alley sparks a chain of events that will take him to the ends of the Earth and beyond—where what is real and what is imagined become terribly confused. And frankly, Huntley couldn’t be more pleased. Intrigue, danger, and a beautiful woman in distress—just what he needs.

IN HOTTER WATER…
Raised thousands of miles from England, Thalia Burgess is no typical Victorian lady. A good thing, because a proper lady would have no hope of recovering the priceless magical artifact Thalia is after. Huntley’s assistance might come in handy, though she has to keep him in the dark. But this distractingly handsome soldier isn’t easy to deceive…

*****
My review
I gave Warrior 4 stars.
A super fun read that runs along the lines of an Indiana Jones adventure. That is if Indy was driven by love instead of the treasures he hunts for. The cover even draws upon the “Indy” look, which I’m not sure was done on purpose or not. The main characters drew me in with their love/annoyance relationship. How they run the gambit of can’t stand the other person, they think I’m a brutish idiot, to I can’t live without this person. A few of the occurrences throughout the book struck me as odd, like how is it that in a place populated with nomads/warriors/thieves is Gabriel Huntley the only shining example on manliness? But seeing as this was a romance/adventure book I didn’t let myself over analyze these “strange occurrences.”
Lots of sass, adventure, and a magical romance that has me wanting to continue with the rest of this series. This book had a number of one liners and comments that had me constantly entertained/cracking up. If it wasn’t for those I think I would have ended up giving the book 3 instead 4 stars. And although as I read I questioned “you’re doing what in the middle of danger” I couldn’t help but buy into the idea that Thalia and Gabriel were brought together by some mythical force, that they were meant to be together and fight together.
Leave a Reply

